technology2In our society, there’s an increasing amount of emphasis on speed and creating technology that enables people to accomplish tasks quicker. Computers are made with multiple, quicker processors, phones have better-quality cameras and apps for everything and new watches from Apple and Samsung are starting to do things that I figured could only be real in Spy Kids 2. (“There was so much stuffed into it, there was no more room for the clock.”)

Do I take advantage of technology? Of course. Does it have its benefits? For sure. However, just because something is faster does not mean it’s better.

Major League Baseball is currently trying to figure out ways to quicken the pace of baseball games and make them shorter. Presumably, if they can convince players to take less time between plays, games can be quicker and everyone will be better off. And sure, for the average person, baseball games do tend to stretch out for a bit, taking longer than may seem necessary.

I disagree. I enjoy baseball games and the steady, patient pace of play. I can relax and focus on the game rather than feeling the need to constantly be surrounded by excitement or great feats of athletic skill. I don’t have to look at my phone or listen to music to enjoy myself. When I go to games during the summer, I like to keep score on a scorecard with a pencil so I am engaged in every pitch. It’s old-fashioned, but I find that games are much more interesting this way. Major League Baseball should not have to change the rules or force players to do things quicker just for the sake of making games shorter.

The desire to shorten baseball games is an indication of how our society is placing more emphasis on speed and the use of technology to attain it. Now, I absolutely believe that technology has its uses, and I use it frequently. But I think there is something lost when we rely on technology too much and use it as a crutch by which we get through our day to day actions. Doesn’t the old saying state that life is not so much about the destination, but the journey you took to get there? Well, many of us are missing that journey completely because we are busy using our phone as a GPS rather than learning the streets. While walking around, people miss out on the opportunity to say hi to someone or make a new friend because they are staring at their phones. What happened to being social and courteous with the people that surround us day in and day out?

People nowadays are starting to forget how to interact with actual people because they consistently choose to interact with a screen instead. Friendships are based on online interactions rather than real-life ones. I blame technology for this steady transformation. The speed and convenience that we gain from technology does not outweigh the resulting losses in quality of life. Do we need to dispose of all technology? No, but we can’t let it continue to develop in such a way that it overtakes our lives.

1184793_10201999076998456_737005148_nJeff Ullery is a junior economics and English double major from St. Louis.